All 12 Premiership sides safely through to last 16 of BetMcLean League Cup

You are viewing content from Q Belfast 96.7/102.5. Would you like to make this your preferred location?
BetMcLean League Cup

Q Radio Sport

Former Carrick Rangers boss Niall Currie had a losing start as the new manager of Championship side Dundela, after taking over from Colin Nixon.

Currie's first game in charge was Tuesday night's BetMcLean League Cup tie against Ballinamallard at Wilgar Park which incredibly ended 4-0 to the Fermanagh side - after extra-time.

Holders Coleraine launched their defence of the trophy with a 5-0 win at Bangor.

(The Bannsiders beat Crusaders in the 2019-20 final - the competition wasn't played last season due to Covid). 

League Cup winners 2019/20 - Coleraine

Glentoran also hit five without reply - against Banbridge Town at the BetMcLean Oval.

Linfield had a 4-0 victory away to Ballyclare while Cliftonville beat the Welders 2-0 at Solitude.

The south Down derby was won by Warrenpoint, 2-1 at the Newry Showgrounds AET.

Carrick needed extra-time to see off visiting Dergview, also 2-1 to Stuart King’s team.

15 of 16 second round ties were staged on Tuesday as Premiership sides entered the fray.

Ards host Dollingstown on Wednesday.

Annagh 2-4 Ballymena 
Ballyclare 0-4 Linfield
Carrick 2-1 Dergview AET
Cliftonville 2-0 Welders
Crusaders 5-0 Moyola Park
Dundela 0-4 Ballinamallard AET
Dungannon 3-0 Armagh City
Glenavon 5-1 Portstewart
Glentoran 5-0 Banbridge Town
Institute 4-3 PSNI
Loughgall 6-2 Lisburn Distillery
Newry City 1-2 Warrenpoint AET
Portadown 2-0 Newington
Bangor 0-5 Coleraine
Larne 4-0 Limavady






More from Q Radio Local Sport

Join the Thank Q Club

Sign up for the Thank Q Club and receive exclusive offers, fun competitions and amazing prizes - it's quick and easy to do!

Sign Up Log In

Listen on the go

Download the Q Radio app to keep listening, wherever you are! It's available on Apple and Android devices.

Download from the App Store Download from Google Play